Honors Convocation and Honorary Awards

Honors Convocation

Honors Convocation is a unique event of the academic year. Its purpose is to recognize the academic achievements of some of the top students, as well as those students who not only achieve academic success but also show great leadership ability, service to the community and compassion for their fellow students.

Each academic department honors select students for their academic achievements. Scholarships are awarded by the Student Association. 

Students selected for Lambda Sigma (the sophomore honor society), Pinnacle (the adult student honor society) and Kappa Gamma Pi are also recognized.

Finally, the most prestigious awards that the college presents to students — the D’Youville Medal, the Grey Nuns of the Sacred Heart Medal, the Lee Conroy Higgins Award and the St. Catherine’s of Alexandria Medal — are also bestowed on students.

Honorary Awards

The D’Youville Medal is awarded annually to a senior who, exemplifying the spirit and ideals of the college, is deemed outstanding for achievement, service and loyalty to the college.

Grey Nun of the Sacred Heart Medal is awarded annually to a graduate student who has demonstrated outstanding academic achievement as well as service to the college and the larger community.

The Lee Conroy Higgins Award, presented annually by the alumni association, recognizes a senior for outstanding support of and involvement in campus activities and shows concern for fellow students.

The St. Catherine of Alexandria Medal, presented by the Buffalo Chapter of Kappa Gamma Pi, is awarded annually to a junior who is outstanding in scholarship and notable for service to the college and community.

Candidates for these awards are nominated by the faculty and employees of the university, with final selection by an ad hoc committee.

Department awards are conferred annually on those students who demonstrate mastery of subject content and exemplify service to the university and community.